Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Feminist by observance

Dedicated to all my female friends and readers....

Some days back I wrote something...something written in a spate of anger, so did not share it. After all, as is said, "Words spoken in anger cannot be taken back." But today, while clearing up my system (file system obviously!) I came across this piece again, and reading it in retrospect, in an unbiased manner, I realized that I still found it true. So I guess it's safe to post them now...Some of you may find it a little strong, but well so is Espresso and still people love it.

"There’s always an MCP within every man. However nice, caring, sweet, helpful, and all other adjectives that women generally use when they need to convince themselves to marry a guy. There’s a little kid in every human, and there is an MCP in every man. The office team or group of colleagues go out for drinks and/or lunch/dinner, so does he. Try that yourself, and you can’t do so without answering questions like where’re you going, who all are going, what time will you be back, how will you come back, did you/do you plan to drink….and the list goes on, until he has made sure you feel guilty about having come at all while you nurse your first drink. Ever tried asking a man what time he will return from office; well, that’s something every woman does, and I’d like to meet one who has not heard the reply, “how do you expect me to know so soon in the day”, or the simpler version, “I don’t know”. You try giving the same answer, and chances are you will hear him tell you not to take your work so seriously, else your boss will make you sit late always, or simply not to take so much stress. Of course, this is in the rare occasion when you don’t know how late you might have to work. Because, women generally know when to work and how to work, call us better organized, good at planning our work or good at getting our work done. No wonder women make better mangers! By the way, have you ever tried to go to an office party, by which I mean an official late night dinner party without your partner. Chances are you will see a long, brooding face when you reach home, that refuses to talk to you, except maybe tell you to go to sleep since it’s late. Quite a dampener on all the high spirits you gained at the party. Oh! You could try asking your better half to cook, start to finish, right up to clearing the table, while you watch TV, when you both return from work and see his mood at the end of it all (and they ask why women lose libido after marriage!). Would like to meet someone who hasn’t come across at least one of the situations mentioned above, or rather, would like to meet the better half(!) of that person. Well, even God himself wasn't perfect!"

Disclaimer1: The above facts are based on the experiences of more than one people and some stats gathered from newspapers and do not point to any single person. Just some random observations and a vent to some steam :)

Disclaimer2: I still love my husband and he means the world to me. So all family reading this blog, relax, don't worry, everything's still great :)

PS: If you don't know what MCP means.....well, find someone who knows :)

2 comments:

Anonymous said...

The look on the face of the husband, when you come back from an official party is because, the husband misses you more than you miss him ;)

As women make better managers, husbands make better lovers who miss you :P

Arunima Shekhar said...

Maybe... then women probably need to learn how to love their husbands some more, so that they can brood and sulk too and generally make things unpleasant when their husbands return late....point taken :)